You are here

NEWS: Gmail announces ‘Undo Send’ button

Gmail has launched an ‘Undo Send’ button, allowing users to stop an email sending.

However, the new tool will only work if a user hits ‘Undo’ up to 30 seconds after pressing send.

Previously only available to Gmail Labs users, everyone can now use the tool. To turn it on go to Settings, then select ‘Labs’ then enable ‘Undo Send’.

The tech giant hopes this will make it easier for users to send error-free communications.

Michael Leggett, user experience designer, announced the feature in a blog post. He said: ‘This feature can't pull back an email that's already gone; it just holds your message for five seconds so you have a chance to hit the panic button. And don't worry – if you close Gmail or your browser crashes in those few seconds, we'll still send your message.’

Image via Google